Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do us all a favor and don't use a Mausser, please

Do us all a favor and don't use a Mausser, please

Ok, I'm going to just come out and say it. Fixers suck!

I'm not sure that the reason they suck is only because they use Mausser Particle Streamers or not, but we need to put an end to the use of this weapon.

Please fixers, stop using this weak gun so you can provide a reasonable amount of offense to a group and stop just wasting space.

Let me clarify that I'm not a fixer, I'm a trader. I don't have any fixer characters. I have never had a fixer character at any point in time.

The Mausser Particle Streamer QL200 can be outdamaged by QL200 weapons of every single weapon class, including *pistol* if you have a critical hit buff or high level scope.

So many people just calculate the average raw damage of a weapon not including skill levels, monster ac, or initiatives and come off with the idea that the Mausser is only slightly underpowered, but this is not the case! Here are my own calculations for various weapons assuming 800 initiative, 800 attack skill, and 2500 or 5000 ac for the monsters and not taking into account any special attacks (the first number is the damage per second vs 2500 ac, the second the damage per second vs 5000 ac):

QL200 Rider Executioner (1h edged) - 183, 147
    QL200 Sledgehammer (2h blunt) - 168, 150
    QL200 Home Defender (shotgun) - 167, 128
    QL200 Nova Flow (assault rifle) - 155, 109
    QL188 Type 77a (rifle) - 153, 115
    QL200 Mausser (smg) - 124, 86
    QL200 PNG Tactical (pistol) - 65, 65

Now add in a 14% critical hit buff:

QL200 Home Defender (shotgun) - 284, 240
    QL200 Nova Flow (assault rifle) - 255, 202
    QL188 Type 77a (rifle) - 244, 202
    QL200 Rider Executioner (1h edged) - 226, 183
    QL200 PNG Tactical (pistol) - 205, 187
    QL200 Sledgehammer (2hblunt) - 196, 176
    QL200 Mausser (smg) - 174, 129

Look, the thing sucks. Don't use it. STOP I SAY!