Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Maxing out AO's graphics.

Maxing out AO's graphics.

When I made the video "The Tour" which contained AO footage, I had forced 32x AA. But I got curious as to how crisp I could make the game look. So I tried doing this:

1. Downsample. I run the game on 3200x1800 resolution and then that quality picture is downsampled to fit my 1920x1080 monitor. You get very crisp images this way.

2. In addition to this, I forced on 32x CSAA through my nvidia control panel.

3. FXAA is forced on.

4. I force on Anisotropisk filtering, at 16x

Now, I'm no expert on AA, so some of my settings here may have been redundant or sub-optimal. I'm not sure. But so far, this is what I have done. If you have any suggestions for improvement, please let me know.

Here are some random screenshots I took running these settings. The game ran at 60-100 fps (according to Fraps), and I didn't notice any worse performance than normal. The screenshots aren't taken in the most interesting of places. I was too lazy to run to a better zone!

Veteran of Equilibrium

Downsampling! There is something I forgot I could do!
    Pricecuts - 220 Trader
    Feel free to contact me via PM or in-game.

Raggy - 220 Bureaucrat || Raggeh - 220 Fixer | Back as 'Raggys' - Shade for the time being. | Nuclei - 217 Nanotechnician || Nanobiology - 214 Doctor

Tip #743: As noted in Tip #244, tea bags have an infinite variety of uses. However, there's always one jerk who will want to give you crap over drinking tea. Particularly if in a new town, use this as an opportunity to assert yourself. Any drunken idiot can win a bar fight. It takes a real man to win a bar fight while enjoying a cup of Earl Grey.

Cool!

A few questions though, Nvidia user here as well, what version drivers are you running ? How do you downsample ? (TBH I've never even heard of it)