Anarchy Online Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Anarchy Online Bulletin Board > Community forums > Knowledge Database

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 00:54:55   #1
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Release Announcement: Demoder's PlanetMap Viewer

Demoder's PlanetMap Viewer lets you view existing AO planet maps without logging into the game. It also displays your character positions on the map. If you're multilogged, it'll plot all of them. You can also activate Overlay Mode, which makes the program stay on top of AO. Useful when you can't dedicate a screen to the program, for whatever reason.

More info
Screenshots: (1.0.1) [Overlay Mode] [Multiple Characters]
Screenshots: (1.2.2) [LCA Information] [Magnification] [Highlight of active character]
Video: Preview

Downloads
Installer: v1.2.4 (10.0MB) (recommended; will install all prequesites)
Binaries: v1.2.4 (353.2kB)

Features
  • Display any planet map which is available within Anarchy Online
    • AO does not need to run in order to view maps, but AO must run for there to be any character locators to display
    • Place PMV on a secondary monitor, or switch to overlay mode to keep it on top of AO
  • Display character locators, names, and optionally dimension on map for all logged in characters
  • Display where a tracked character logged off (may be disabled by user)
  • Highlights currently played character (this can be disabled) [Screenshot]
  • Automatic map tracking
    • Active character; PMV will keep the currently played character in center of screen
    • Selected characters; PMV will attempt to keep user-defined characters on screen
  • Automatic switching between Rubi-ka and Shadowlands maps; If you zone to SL, SL map is displayed.
  • Magnification: Can quickly shrink or enlarge the active planet map. [Screenshot]
  • Plugins
    • TowerStatus: On-map display of current LCA (tower field) ownership, and recent attacks [Screenshot]. Automatically detects which dimension to display.
Requirements
Microsoft .NET 2.0, 3.0 or 3.5
Microsoft .NET 4.0 Client Profile
Microsoft XNA Framework 4.0
Windows 8, 7, Vista or XP
User Level: Administrator (this is required for getting character location info from AO)
Graphics: A DirectX9-compatible graphics adapter

Credits
Created by Demoder (demoder -at- demoder.me)

Map plotting algorithm
Thanks to Vhab for turning a huge amount of data points into a formula which is useable to do accurate plotting on the map.
Also thanks to Niniko for providing documentation on some of the concepts involved in this process.

Icon
Thanks to Vhab for creating the icon, and to Onack for giving permission to use AoRK for icon generation.

Testing
Thanks to Iriche, Jandorith, Nesual, Onack, Phooy and Vhab for extensive testing.


Found a bug? Please create a bug report, reply to this thread or send me a PM. Thank you!
Please check out the project page for more information.
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::

Last edited by Demoder; Apr 22nd, 2014 at 16:00:03..
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 01:08:36   #2
Arriviste
|:: badvy ::|
 
Arriviste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks, Demoder--I've been looking forward to this!
__________________
Don't mind me. I'm just passin' through.
::CLAN ADV :Chairman's Prize for Holy LOL recipient: RK-I::
The Red Brotherhood
If this is gonna be that kind of party, I'm gonna stick my leet in the mashed potatoes.”

Arriviste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 05:09:29   #3
MassDebater
Technically haven't quit
 
MassDebater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Next up, a way for people to all connect to a server/bot and it plots everyone on there for everyone else.

Looks great cant wait to try it.
__________________
This was what I was wearing. Tell me I asked for it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marinegent View Post
Soldier reflects just flat out need to be much stronger all the time (70%~ at level 220 at all times...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowgod View Post
the day our pets last forever, like yours, is the day your reqs will be lowered.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obtena View Post
To be fair, you are lucky the mods are as forgiving as they are.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obtena View Post
your an idiot


MassDebater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 11:27:25   #4
Xyphos
Doing it wrong
 
Xyphos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Great job Demo!
does this thing read the map records from the game db or just the planetmap from the gui folder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MassDebater View Post
Next up, a way for people to all connect to a server/bot and it plots everyone on there for everyone else.

Looks great cant wait to try it.
very cool idea, but I suggest limiting to team/raid members.
__________________
"When life knocks you on your butt, you have to get back up and punch it in the face." --DJ Ashval of GSP

Nullified "Bitbucket" Deadcode - 220/25 Neut NanoMage Engi
Bits10 - 150/14 Clan Opifex Trader
Xyphos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 11:29:11   #5
Lazy
/人 ◕‿‿◕ 人\
 
Lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
cooooooooooool. been watching this develop. very nice to see it released
__________________
Operator Elitist "Lazyfixer" Jerk || 220/30/70 trox Fixer || lol im so good at pvp || Fixer PVP Guide
Doctor "Lazydoc" Greenthumb || 220/30/67 nm Doctor
Ubringshame "Sarariman" Tofamiry || 220/30/xx soli crat || DD || Solo
Amg "Lazypewpew" Lazors || 220/27/67 soli solja

Quote:
Originally Posted by Genele View Post
we all know that Neutrals are Omni light!
Lazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 11:29:15   #6
Raggy
Profit Without Honour
 
Raggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I was gunna make something similar using the Google Earth style but hell, it looks like you've beat me to the punch and done it even better.

Definitely going to be using this, nice job.

EDIT: Suggestion for a feature, although I'm not sure how feasable this is. You have the mouse position in the bottom left, would there be any way for translating that into in-game co-ordinates? Maybe by measuring the size of a zone to it's ingame co-ords or something... I dunno lol.
__________________
Pricecuts - Opifex Trader - Martial Arts
Telepathica - Nanomage Metaphysicist - Creation


Raggeh - Exile Human Warrior - Lightspire EU (RP)

Tip #743: As noted in Tip #244, tea bags have an infinite variety of uses. However, there's always one jerk who will want to give you crap over drinking tea. Particularly if in a new town, use this as an opportunity to assert yourself. Any drunken idiot can win a bar fight. It takes a real man to win a bar fight while enjoying a cup of Earl Grey.


Thinking of playing Wildstar? Why not join my PvE-RP guild!

Last edited by Raggy; Mar 27th, 2012 at 11:34:38..
Raggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 12:40:09   #7
Vhab
Mongo Code!
 
Vhab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Funcom employee

<3 <3 <3

This now means AO requires at least 3 monitors; game, map, browser
__________________
My posts are my own and do not reflect the views of my current nor former employers/clients

Remco "Vhab" van Oosterhout
Former Anarchy Online Game Programmer


Live Chat Support | E-mail Support | Forum Rules | AODevs | Vha.Chat
Vhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 15:28:47   #8
Phooy
Ra
 
Phooy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Had the same thought myself
Although to run the game in a 42" telly or have PMV going is the question.
__________________
Ra, ra, ra the bot,
gently down the lag.
Happily killing clammers,
rezzing's such a drag.

Hongkong Phooy 220/27/70
Codexier 60/6/14
Whosgotammo 150/13/38
Phooy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 15:43:12   #9
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I've hopefully recovered from yesterdays 14 hour coding marathon now; Only time will tell. There's some interesting suggestions here which are worth exploring; Please do keep them coming

If you don't have access to posting on AO forums, you can send me a PM over at AODevs or AOU instead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phooy View Post
Had the same thought myself
Although to run the game in a 42" telly or have PMV going is the question.
This is what Overlay Mode is for!
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::

Last edited by Demoder; Mar 27th, 2012 at 15:51:02..
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 18:27:44   #10
MajorOutage
Hey, got any grapes?
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Nice work, Demoder.

Now if only this worked over a network...under mono...

PS. Little off-topic, but is there anywhere I could find a plain-english-ish progress update on Bot#?
__________________
Because Race Yalm

Last edited by MajorOutage; Mar 27th, 2012 at 18:31:14..
MajorOutage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 18:45:27   #11
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorOutage View Post
Nice work, Demoder.
Now if only this worked over a network...under mono...

PS. Little off-topic, but is there anywhere I could find a plain-english-ish progress update on Bot#?
Thank you.


Mono support:
This application relies on many native Windows calls in order to get information from AO, so I don't even know where to begin on supporting mono on other platforms.
I can look into trying to get it to work with mono for windows though, but I don't really see the point as you're still locked to MS libraries by the XNA Framework, for not to mention Windows itself.

Bot#: See here.
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 18:53:21   #12
nanoforcer
Small boned damnit!
 
nanoforcer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Demoder, marry me!
That basicly means thanks, awsome work (goes for all ppl involved ofc)

Btw, would it be possible to transfer stuff like mission markers etc?
So if you got a mish somewhere the market would popup on the extra map as well.

While i'm asking for things, perhaps even move the small pf map there as well?
__________________
Don't you just hate this kind of ppl
http://redwing.hutman.net/%7Emreed/w...rouscranus.htm

Last edited by nanoforcer; Mar 27th, 2012 at 19:02:45..
nanoforcer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27th, 2012, 19:06:06   #13
MajorOutage
Hey, got any grapes?
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demoder View Post
Thank you.
No, thank you.

Quote:
Mono support:
This application relies on many native Windows calls in order to get information from AO, so I don't even know where to begin on supporting mono on other platforms.
I can look into trying to get it to work with mono for windows though, but I don't really see the point as you're still locked to MS libraries by the XNA Framework, for not to mention Windows itself.
I was thinking along the lines of the ability to run the viewer part remotely on my linux system. I suppose running it in wine would do the trick just as easily, though.
__________________
Because Race Yalm
MajorOutage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 17:46:55   #14
JungleGeorgeRK2
Soleet
 
JungleGeorgeRK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Pop erors and Ingame map download links

Great work. It is working for me even though it generates two types of popup errors.

I am running Windows XP with AO installed on the F: drive. I selected the path and it works fine except.

At start-up of AO client or your Map Viewer
EasyHookSvc has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

AppName: remover.exe AppVer: 1.0.0.0 AppStamp:49b26ffe
ModName: kernel32.dll ModVer: 5.1.2600.5781 ModStamp:49c4f482
fDebug: 0 Offset: 00012afb


When I go to Shadowlands, I switch maps. If the map is Shadowland Spheremap_v1.0, I get repeated popups "Get popup Object reference not set to an instance of the object"

It works fine on AOMaps Atlas of Shadowlands v 0.93

Here are links to all the the ingame maps I use

JungleGeorgeRK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 17:54:31   #15
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JungleGeorgeRK2 View Post
Great work.
Thank you!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JungleGeorgeRK2 View Post
It is working for me even though it generates two types of popup errors.

I am running Windows XP with AO installed on the F: drive. I selected the path and it works fine except.

At start-up of AO client or your Map Viewer
EasyHookSvc has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

AppName: remover.exe AppVer: 1.0.0.0 AppStamp:49b26ffe
ModName: kernel32.dll ModVer: 5.1.2600.5781 ModStamp:49c4f482
fDebug: 0 Offset: 00012afb


When I go to Shadowlands, I switch maps. If the map is Shadowland Spheremap_v1.0, I get repeated popups "Get popup Object reference not set to an instance of the object"

It works fine on AOMaps Atlas of Shadowlands v 0.93

Here are links to all the the ingame maps I use

Thank you for the very detailed report! I'll look into this once I get some time to do so later today.
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 21:03:25   #16
JungleGeorgeRK2
Soleet
 
JungleGeorgeRK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I notice I was missing AO shadowland map and did a fresh install. The repeated Object reference popups disappeared. The EasyHookSvc issue is still there
JungleGeorgeRK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 21:45:03   #17
Ciassene
Leetas
 
Ciassene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Just a suggestion, dunno if its doable, but, when you log out and have map viewer on, it could save the location where the toon is at offline and show it on the map too, with different color ofc
__________________
Ciassene
Ciassene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31st, 2012, 23:16:33   #18
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JungleGeorgeRK2 View Post
I notice I was missing AO shadowland map and did a fresh install. The repeated Object reference popups disappeared. The EasyHookSvc issue is still there
There's an error related to loading legacy planet maps. If the map file definition doesn't have a "CoordsFile" directive, the PlanetMap Viewer will error out on many operations. This is now corrected internally to load the default coords file if one isn't defined.

I've so far been unable to reproduce the error you're seeing with EasyHookSvc. I will try more tomorrow. In the meantime, I've sent you a PM asking for some more details about your system configuration, to try and track down the issue.

Thank you!
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::

Last edited by Demoder; Apr 1st, 2012 at 22:23:30..
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2nd, 2012, 23:43:10   #19
Demoder
a.k.a. Savagedlight
 
Demoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
JungleGeorgeRK2: I've tried everything I can think of to reproduce the bug you're seeing with EasyHookSvc, to no avail.

May I suggest attempting to reinstall the planetmap viewer? Make sure it and AO is not running when you do.
__________________
::: My Tools & Stuff :::
::: Cratine Savagedheals Enfine Zoewrangle Demoder :: Solitron Demotionform :: IRC Demoder Savagedlight :::
::: AOItems :: Blog :: CIDB :: HelpBot :: ItemsBot :: PlanetMap Viewer :: Tower Wars :: Twitter :::
Demoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3rd, 2012, 07:45:58   #20
idefistooshort
Leet
 
idefistooshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanoforcer View Post
Btw, would it be possible to transfer stuff like mission markers etc?
So if you got a mish somewhere the market would popup on the extra map as well.
This please, marker for every mission taken, so when I blitz loads of nanos I wouldn't have to right-click every mission to find next closest one. (Maybe even show potential mission locations while rolling?)
idefistooshort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:56:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © Funcom 1999 - 2006